Melayu itu Indah Hebat Gagah

Just another WordPress.com weblog

1105 040108 Seasons’ Greetings

This should be my 1st entry or it should be my 2nd entry (my 1st was suppose to be about  Christmas). However since I start wordpressing quite late, and the issue of GOD is more urgent and need more attention, this has become my second entry.

 The last holiday season was the best ever. I took leave from Hari Raya Haji till New Year, that would constitute around 13 days (nearly 2 weeks). I celebrated Raya Haji at Kampung (hometown). And came back on Sunday for not to miss the Christmas celebration in KL.

Yes Christmas this year was joyful than ever. I hear again all the Christmas Carols that have been missed for a long while. The “Deck the halls with boughs of holly, fa-la-la-la, la-la-la-la “, or the song “Santa Claus is coming to town” or “Jingle bell, jingle bell, jingle all the way”, when I walked down the Bukit Bintang Road from Lot Ten to Starhill to Pavilion.

 I remember when I was a small kid. All those christmas songs were aired in the national television and I can sang along. And on the Christmas day my family will go to one of our neighbour house down the Sukiman Sahlan Street (Lian Seng Garden, Kluang, Johore) for lunch. They are Portugese, they will made an open house every year and all the nearby neighbourhood will get together on Christmas day.

Christian are not an alien to me, my mother tought me the English name for the angels, such as Gabriel, Micheal, Raphael; the English name for the prophets such as Adam, Noah, Abraham, Isac, Ishmael, Jesus, David, Jacob and so on. She even tought me that the Christian’s world are devided into Catholics and Protestants.

My primary school which is Sekolah Tunku Mahmood 1 was the most pluralise primary school in Kluang. Half of the pupil in my class  were non-muslim. I remember one day my friend Jennifer Sebastian gave me a bible. I read a couple of line talking about love to God and love to neighbour (it is their 2 greatest commandments).

We mixed around, talk about everything and laugh on everything IN BAHASA MALAYSIA. At that time non-malay can converse in BAHASA MALAYSIA very well in Malay slang. 

That was before….😦 things change, environment change, people change. I went to boarding school, our family moved out from the neighbourhood. Now, my Chinese friends have become more Chinese, my Indian friends have become more Indian and my family has become more like Arabs people. The old Malay liberal tradition has gone.

🙂 New Year’s Eve was not been ignored just like that. My friends and I celebrate from 11pm till dawn. We jump from one party to another party. We countdown at Darby Park, then went clubbing and end at private function Chilling Party.

Of all that happened and happening around us, I still love the old tradition song; Auld Lang Syne…..

Auld Lang Syne

Should old acquaintance be forgot,
and never brought to mind ?
Should old acquaintance be forgot,
and auld lang syne ?

CHORUS:
For auld lang syne, my dear,
for auld lang syne,
we’ll take a cup o’ kindness yet,
for auld lang syne.

And surely you’ll buy your pint cup !
And surely I’ll buy mine !
And we’ll take a cup o’ kindness yet,
for auld lang syne.

CHORUS

We two have run about the slopes,
and picked the daisies fine ;
But we’ve wandered many a weary foot,
since auld lang syne.

CHORUS

We two have paddled in the stream,
from morning sun till dine ;
But seas between us broad have roared
since auld lang syne.

CHORUS

And there’s a hand my trusty friend !
And give us a hand o’ thine !
And we’ll take a right good-will draught,
for auld lang syne.

CHORUS

January 4, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

4 Comments »

  1. My friends and I celebrate from 11pm till dawn. We jump from one party to another party. We countdown at Darby Park, then went clubbing and end at private function Chilling Party.

    ni ayat ko ke ayat org lain ko paste kat wordpress ko? musykil sat

    Comment by kui | June 27, 2008 | Reply

  2. apa yang musykilnya?

    Comment by radzwill | June 28, 2008 | Reply

  3. ni ayat ko ke ayat org lain ko paste kat wordpress ko?

    a. Ayat Aku
    b. Ayat org lain

    Comment by kui | June 30, 2008 | Reply

  4. ni ayat aku napa? n lagi satu sapa kui ni?

    Comment by radzwill | June 30, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

